The Committee 2017-18

Bobbie Mackley retired in 2010 after 30 years as an ABC staffer where she was a veteran of many campaigns to ‘Save the ABC’. Bobbie forged a strong connection with ABC Friends during these years and later joined herself. She was elected to the Committee at the end of 2011 and became President for a first term in November 2012.  Bobbie is also one of two WA Representatives on the committee of ABC Friends National. She believes the ABC plays a crucial role in all aspects of Australian life, and that its independence and viability must be preserved. She is particularly concerned about the down-grading and depletion of the WA branch of the national broadcaster. She believes the current cuts to an already lean ABC will seriously compromise its ability to fulfil its Charter.

Cathy Bardon grew up in rural Queensland in a family that only listened to ABC radio, and largely watched only ABC TV. She worked for Thiess Brothers Mining Division as a technical librarian, then in publishing for Jacaranda Press as a book editor, then with Esso Australia in Sydney as a petroleum geologist. She and her husband lived in Denver, Colorado, for two and a half years, where she listened to National Public Radio (NPR) and experienced their fund-raising periods! After moving to Perth she retrained in computer science and worked in IT at Curtin University for 16 years. She was an active member of the National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) at Curtin. She believes an independent adequately funded public broadcaster is essential for healthy democracy. Cathy is also a WA Representative on the committee of ABC Friends National.

Terri Brown retired in 2012 after more than 26 years at the Australian Taxation Office where she was a staff representative for CPSU. She now volunteers in the community sector helping refugee schoolchildren. Terri is concerned about the cuts to the ABC and the effect they are having on programming and independence. She has been a member of ABC Friends for four years, was Secretary for one term and is now in her third term as Treasurer.

Michael Dowling taught in schools from Wiluna to Narrogin and around the metropolitan area for nearly four decades. His career was varied: he was seconded to the ABC for a short stint in the mid-1980s; worked in audiovisual production and wrote an innovative English course for children studying in remote locations and those being home schooled; taught in and managed a number of PEAC centres providing challenging courses for gifted and talented students in state schools. He and his students won numerous state-wide awards for their work in technology and enterprise quests. He has been a devoted watcher of and listener to ABC programs since his childhood. He believes a well-funded, strong, independent ABC is essential in our ever-changing world.

Marie Glover arrived in Australia from Ireland in 1985 and settled in Fremantle with her husband, daughter and dachshunds. Very quickly Marie became hooked on ABC TV and Radio National where the level of conversation and interviews reminded her of the high quality of Irish journalism. Marie worked in the banking sector and was also a leader in the Financial Services Union, from both of which she retired after 20 years’ service. As a supporter of the ABC, Marie acquired an interest in projects and activities sponsored by ABC Friends and is now one of the team as a committee member of the WA branch.

Elizabeth (Lizzie) Long studies a Bachelor of Arts at the University of Western Australia, majoring in History, whilst working part-time in fashion retail. She is interested in politics, international affairs and has a chronic obsession with ABC iView. Lizzie began watching the ABC with afternoon children’s programs and the evening news bulletin. She now prefers to watch news and current affairs, along with Australian drama series like ‘Rake’. Like many Australians, Lizzie is deeply concerned with the declining quality of for-profit journalism especially with regards to impartiality, community-based reporting, and independent international coverage Most importantly, she strongly believes in a free, not-for-profit, government and community owned station presenting diverse and quality programming for all Australians.